Skip to main content
Announcements
SYSTEM MAINTENANCE: Thurs., Sept. 19, 1 AM ET, Platform will be unavailable for approx. 60 minutes.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
AG-gugelbisolutions
Creator II
Creator II

Connecting to QRS API via QPS

Hi there, I'm pretty new to the usage of APIs with Qlik Sense, especially to build a custom web app.

Reading this page I see there are basically two ways to connect to the QRS:

1. using urls like https://<QRS machine name>:4242/<path> provided that the client has a valid certificate issued by the Qlik Sense Server
  2. using urls like https://<proxy machine name>/<path>  

Given that I'm working with a single node Windows environment, I was able to start exploring the QRS API following the first way, but not the second. More precisely, these were my Postman settings:

What should I do in order to follow the second way?  I tried the next:

Labels (1)
  • API

5 Replies
Øystein_Kolsrud
Employee
Employee

Simple things first: When you want to access the api through the proxy, then you should not include the port number. The proxy will take care of guiding the request to the right port depending on the URL.

But the hard thing here is getting the authentication right. One of the main responsibilities of the proxy (or virtual proxy to be precise) is to provide an authentication method. The exact set of headers you need to access Qlik Sense through the proxy therefore depends on what type of authentication method is configured for the virtual proxy you are connecting to. So you should start by checking how the proxy is configured.

Postman might not support the authentication methods you need though. It seems that it for instance has limited port for Windows authentication (NTLM) which is quite common for Qlik Sense:

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/37341304/pass-ntlm-with-postman

AG-gugelbisolutions
Creator II
Creator II
Author