cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
xp
Contributor II
Contributor II

Newbie: .NET SDK, what for?

First, please pardon my naivete.  I'm just trying to figure things out. 

I work with a team of .NET developers and we were thinking that we would be able to leverage our .NET ASP.NET MVC experience in building out a custom web site that incorporates Qlik Sense visualizations. 

From what I'm seeing, if we wanted to build out a fully custom website with embedded visualizations (charts, sheets, etc), our options are

1. HTML/Angular 
2. ASP.NET MVC / Angular

It looks as if there's no real advantage to going the .NET route as we'd have to use angular / javascript to interact with QS visualizations anyway.

Maybe I'm just misunderstanding everything.  

Can anybody tell me what the advantage is of building out a web-site in .NET and what I might be using the .NET SDK for? Again, I'm really new to all of this so, be gentle. :).  Thanks! 

Labels (1)
5 Replies
Øystein_Kolsrud
Employee
Employee

The .Net SDK is used for interacting with the Qlik Sense engine. The engine knows a lot about filtering, selection and data extraction, but nothing about rendering and visualizations. It sounds to me like you are mostly looking for the latter part, and that is all Javascript built into the Qlik Sense client. So in short: These are not the APIs you're looking for. Move along! Move along! 🙂

xp
Contributor II
Contributor II
Author

>> These are not the APIs you're looking for. Move along! Move along! 🙂 << 

LOL! Thanks for the reply and the info Obi! 

xp
Contributor II
Contributor II
Author

So, if you don't mind my asking, what is the point of having all of the visualization classes exposed via the .NET SDK? 

https://help.qlik.com/en-US/sense-developer/2.0/APIs/net+sdk/html/N_Qlik_Engine.htm#!

-- x

Øystein_Kolsrud
Employee
Employee