Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jagveer
Contributor III
Contributor III

Not able to assign a document CAL

Hi,

I am trying to assign a user a document CAL on QMC. I've been doing this for past 3 years with no issues. But today, when I am assigning a new user in Document CALs, it appears in the list and the "Document CALs assigned to Users" increase. But, the moment, i hit apply the number goes back to the previous value, even though the name of the user stays in the assigned users list and the user doesn't see anything on the access point.

28 Replies
Jagveer
Contributor III
Contributor III
Author

Hi Brett,

The entry does show up in the xml as shown in the attached screenshot. So, it seems we have a corrupt file. What can be done to resolve this.

Brett_Bleess
Former Employee
Former Employee

Jagveer, the only thing to do would be to recreate things, which would mean redoing all your Doc and Named CAL assignments if you did those manually.  You could at least use the xml file to know who needs to be set to what, but I do not know of any fast way to do this.  The only other option would be to see if you have a file backup of a 'good' version that you could restore and then just fix the missing items at that point, sorry I do not have anything better to offer you.  If you do a restore, just be sure you stop all QVS services in the the same environment, then swap out all copies of the files, and then restart the services and see if that does the trick.  You could try it in a Dev environment first if you do have one just to be sure it is good etc.  

Regards,
Brett

To help users find verified answers, please do not forget to use the "Accept as Solution" button on any post(s) that helped you resolve your problem or question.
I now work a compressed schedule, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, so those will be the days I will reply to any follow-up posts.
Jagveer
Contributor III
Contributor III
Author

Hi Brett,