Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ahmed_Turnaround

Assistance with removing synthetic keys

Hi,

I'm a complete novice at this, if it wasn't obvious and I've done some research and found that having synthetic keys are frowned upon and should be removed. 

I just wanted some advice on how you would do this task. In this screenshot, you will my tables that I am using in my QlikView Application. You will also see that $Syn1 has been created by QlikView on fields ITEM ID and CUSTOMER ID which are common in both TA.SalesHistory and TA.Backorders. 

TA.Backorders doesn't link to TA.SalesHistory in any way but it does have common field names. 

TA.Backorders can link to TA.Customer on field CUSTOMER ID and TA.Item on field ITEM ID. 

TA.SalesHistory can link to TA.Customer on field CUSTOMER ID and TA.Item on field ITEM ID. 

Screenshot 1.PNG

So how would you go about removing this synthetic key? I don't really want TA.SalesHistory and TA.Backorder to link together, which I gather is what $Syn is doing? 

Thank you for any help.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
martinpohl
Partner - Master
Partner - Master

what is $Sync doing?

Qlik creates a Sync table with all possible combination of CUSTOMER ID and ITEM ID that are in your values.

How to avoid it?

Possible 1: Create a field CUSTOMER ID & '-' & ITEM ID in both tables plus a Link field table 

CUSTOMER ID & ITEM ID and also CUSTOMER ID and ITEM ID for selections an relationship to customer and item table

Possible 2: Concatenate load your datas. All fields within the same name (CUSTOMER ID and ITEM ID, maybe other fields) are in the same field, different fields (Document cumber and sales rep) are in theses line they are belogns to.