cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
gfisch13
Creator II
Creator II

Calculating the number of Days between two dates

Hi everyone - I thought I was doing something relatively easy.......

I'm trying to calculate the number of days between two dates with the idea that I will create a dimension to accumulate the number of cases in aging buckets.  (0-30, 31-60, 61-90 etc....)   I thought I understood this well enough but I guess I don't.  I'm a novice user.

I've created a field as part of my script to retain the current date ( Today() as "CurrentDate";), but when I try to create the field 'Days' by using this formula (CurrentDate - DATE_INVESTIGATION_STARTED) I'm getting various errors. 

When I try to use it in the script after creating "CurrentDate" I'm getting errors for 'field not found'.

I'm just not sure what I'm doing wrong, or if I'm creating this in the proper manner.

Any input would help!!  Time Appreciated!!!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
sunny_talwar

CurrentDate is a field which is getting created in this particular load. You cannot refer to a field which has been created. Try this instead:

Today() - "DATE_INVESTIGATION_STARTED as Days;

View solution in original post

21 Replies
sunny_talwar

Can you share the script you are using? Also can you check if DATE_INVESTIGATION_STARTED is a true date field or not?

gfisch13
Creator II
Creator II
Author

This is my script.  As far as I know DATE_INVESTIGATION_STARTED is a date field since it is one in the source system.  Could the property change once it is loaded into Qlikview?  How can I check to see if it is date, string, number....etc????   Thanks!!!!

SET ThousandSep=',';

SET DecimalSep='.';

SET MoneyThousandSep=',';

SET MoneyDecimalSep='.';

SET MoneyFormat='$#,##0.00;($#,##0.00)';

SET TimeFormat='h:mm:ss TT';

SET DateFormat='MM/DD/YYYY';

SET TimestampFormat='M/D/YYYY h:mm:ss[.fff] TT';

SET MonthNames='Jan;Feb;Mar;Apr;May;Jun;Jul;Aug;Sep;Oct;Nov;Dec';