Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Calendar Dates & Schema

All,

I'm fairly new to Qlikview and working on my first Dashboard. The issue that I'm having is with dates. I've Concatenated three files into my Fact Table that have different date fields. Below are the files, header names and examples of the date data found in them.

Retail File #1:

Retail Date . 01/01/2013, 01/05/2014

Retail Month - 1, 2, 3, ..12

Retail File #2 (different source):

Retail Month - 1, 2, 3, ..12

Retail Year - 2012, 2013, 2014

Target File:

Plan Year -  2012, 2013, 2014, 2015,

Plan Month - 1, 2, 3, ..12

I would like to be able to compare Retails to plan over the same time periods (filtering on 2015 gives me all 2015 retail and 2015 plan). Not sure if I need to create a 'master' date field in a LinkTable? Or, should I split my three files into separate tables  (ie. is it a schema issue?) Just having trouble visualizing this since I have some data that has a full date and other data that is just month and year.

Any help would be great, thank you!

DJ

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Oleg_Troyansky
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

If you concatenated your Facts into a single Fact table, then you should also standardize your dates on a single common field.

Ideally, if you could bring all three files into the same level of granularity. It looks like the first file has daily data and the other two files have monthly data. Ask your users - is there any value in keeping the daily data for the first file, if the other two files are monthly. If you can settle on a single level of granularity that would be the easiest.

If you need to keep individual dates for the first file, then you could create a common MonthYear field. Something like this: