Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Connect 2025: 3 days of full immersion in data, analytics, and AI. May 13-15 | Orlando, FL: Learn More
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Checkbox variable

Hello,

I have a table with a column that has positive and negative values. I use an expression to calculate the sum of this value.

Lets say Sum(Value). I want a checkbox that will include or exculde the negative values of this sum.

Can anyone help me please?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
johnw
Champion III
Champion III

antonopn wrote:Lets say the column "Value" has the following structure
VALUE
What I would like is to calculate the Sum of this column, taking or not in account the negative values.
A checkbox is what I have thought. If it is checked the Sum would be 9. If not the sum would be 10.

antonopn wrote: Sorry but none of these two has helped. I am a newbie. I was expecting an expression like:
if(VALUE>0,sum(VALUE))

Did you even look at the two example applications you were given before saying they didn't help? Or since they weren't what you expected, did you just assume they didn't work? If you plug in your exact data, they give you the exact result you asked for. Here, I've done it for you. See the attached. There is a checkbox. If checked, the sum is 9. If not, the sum is 10. Exactly like you asked.

Just because a solution isn't what you expected doesn't mean it's wrong.

And if it isn't what you wanted, then you'll need to explain the question again, because everyone so far in the thread has interpreted what you said the same way, as best I can tell.

View solution in original post

9 Replies
Not applicable
Author

you need to use an if statement if(Value>0,sum(Value))

or else create a flag while loading the data

if(Value < 0, 'NEG','POS') as Value_Flag,

or create two new fields while loading the data and use these in a chart expression

if(Value < 0,Value) as Value_NEG,

if(Value > 0,Value) as Value_POS,