Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Connect 2025: 3 days of full immersion in data, analytics, and AI. May 13-15 | Orlando, FL: Learn More
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Displaying messages through expressions in a list box

Hi All,

I am relatively new to Qlikview and I was facing this challenge. I have a list box displaying the products. I need to display a message saying that this product is not present in a few geographies. The geography value where the product is not in, should come from the database. I have a table in the database stating the list of products and the geographies where the product is present. But i need to display the geographies where the product is not present. I added the product as field in the list box and the wanted to play around the expression tab of the list box to show the message. Please let me know if this a achievable? How can I achieve this? Thank you for your help.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
swuehl
MVP
MVP

You can create a dynamic expression by creating variables and dollar sign expand the variables.

See attached a sample (check the variable overview for the variables used).

Note that using this on a large number of  Products might show performance issues.

View solution in original post

8 Replies
swuehl
MVP
MVP

You can create a text box with something like

=Concat({1<GeographyField = e() >}  DISTINCT GeographyField, ', ')

If you select a Product, the text box should display the geographies where this product is not present.

Unfortunately, this will only work correctly if you select a single poduct and it will not work as expression in the list box or table.

(Well, it may work in the list box expression with a selected product by adding a TOTAL qualifier

=Concat({1<GeographyField = e() >}  DISTINCT TOTAL GeographyField, ', ')

)