Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Connect 2025: 3 days of full immersion in data, analytics, and AI. May 13-15 | Orlando, FL: Learn More
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Export QlikView sheet to Excel workbook with formulas

I am new to QlikView and I need your help.

I wouldn't ask, if I could've found a sort of solution to similar problem, but I found only questions and no answers.

I developed a what-if analysis (a recovery plan), which works as expected. My customers are happy, but they requested functionality to export entire QlikView sheet to Excel sheet with the formulas. It is a critical requirement as the customers are going to share the workbook with their suppliers to agree on a plan.

So I wrote a macro, which does the job perfectly, but it won't run on "user-facing" environment.

I red an article "The macros are bad" about appropriate use of macros, where was recommended not to use macros on a "user-facing" environment. In one of the comments there was a suggestion that one can use NPrinting for such tasks.

Please point out where I can read about implementing such functionality (with NPrinting or other tool).

With Microsoft BI stack it is easy to implement, but in the company I am currently working QlikView is preferred.

I don't wan't to tell my customers that they have to pay more for such a basic functionality.

Of course they manually can copy and paste the information in a excel template, but this is prone to mistakes and also is time consuming. The users might need to export hundreds of plans for different materials per day. If they can just change the selection and with a pres of a button save an excel file with date stamp and material as name (what macro does when it runs), that will make the solution to fly. Unfortunately I don't have the knowledge, how to do it without a macro.

I will highly appreciate your help.

Ross

17 Replies
petter
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III