Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Expressions in Variables

I am very new to Qlikview and have a question about using variables in chart expressions. I have a formula that I would like to store in a variable. The reason for wanting to store in a variable is that the formula is going to be used in MANY charts within my application, and I would like to maintain the formula in one spot....in case it needs to change. Here's the formula:

=

Sum(REG_HOURS_NUM + OVERTIME_HOURS_NUM)

I'm placing the formula in a variable called vTest. I then create an expression in my chart as $(vTest). The formula calculates a number, but seems to be unaware of dimensionality in the chart. I have a dimension in my chart for the day of the month, I get the same number, which appears to be just a grand total, for each record in my straight table.

Any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
rwunderlich
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

DFreeman wrote:shouldn't have any problems with doing that one the same way.....right?

Correct. Always Leave the "=" out the variable definition if you want the expression evaluated in the chart.

Please remember to mark the correct answer with "Verify Answer" button.

-Rob

View solution in original post

10 Replies
rwunderlich
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Leave the "=" out of the variable definition. The "=" causes it to be evaluated once, when what you want is the expression text.

Use the "=" in the chart expression instead (if required).

=$(vTest)

-Rob

Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Rob,

Thanks for the quick response. It looks like that did it!

I have another expression that uses the Aggr function......shouldn't have any problems with doing that one the same way.....right?

rwunderlich