Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Filter two unrelated date fields with one list Box

Hi Qlickers,

I'm new to Qlikview and this is my first attempt to get involved with the community. I would like to find out about a rather general issue.

What I'm looking for is a way to select two unrelated columns (Date1 &Date210) with one and the same list box (year and month), as shown in the extract below.

Date Problem.JPG

So if I choose March 2016 in the upper listbox, everything else should be cut to not only to Date1 OR Date210, but both at the same time.

I have been screening other community threads that seemed to discuss similar issues but none of them really got me further.

Thank you already in advance.

1 Reply
stevedark
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Hi Yomula,

Generally the best way to deal with anything like this is in the load script and the data model.  So, a way you can approach this, if you have a unique ID on each row, is:

MainData:

LOAD

ID,

Date1,

Date210

FROM SourceFile.qvd (qvd);

CombinedDates:

LOAD

ID,

'1' as [Date Type],

Date1 as [Generic Date],

Month(Date1) as Month,

Year(Date1) as Year,

Date(MonthStart(Date1), 'MMM-YY') as [Month Year]

RESIDENT MainData;

CombinedDates:

LOAD

ID,

'210' as [Date Type],

Date210 as [Generic Date],

Month(Date210) as Month,

Year(Date210) as Year,

Date(MonthStart(Date210), 'MMM-YY') as [Month Year]

RESIDENT MainData;

Now, when you build list boxes on the fields in the CombinedDates table and select a date it will pick any row from main data where one or the other date is in the selected range.