Skip to main content
Announcements
See why Qlik is a Leader in the 2024 Gartner® Magic Quadrant™ for Analytics & BI Platforms. Download Now
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

From two tables, create a third table. Consoldiate keys and create new column based on a conditional.

Hello,

I'm pretty new to QlikView and SQL.
I am loading two tables from two different sources.
For simplicity, say they look like:

Table1:
Load * Inline
[Key, Subkey, A
1, 1.1, a
2, 2.1, b
2, 2.2, c
5, 5.1, d
5, 5.2, e];

Table2:
Load * Inline
[Key, B
1, f
3, g
4, h
5, i];

I want to create a new table, that consolidates all the keys (all 1-5), with a column C such that C = A if the key exists in Table 1; else C = B.

That is, if(Table1.A is a value, Table1.A, Table2.B)

Want:
Load * Inline
[Key, Subkey, C
1, 1.1, a
2, 2.1, b
2, 2.2, c
3, -, g
4, -, h
5, 5.1, d
5, 5.2, e];

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
johnw
Champion III
Champion III

Doh! Now I see the problem. Wish I'd seen it sooner. I get bitten by this one now and again.

The problem happens since you load Table2 before you load your Want table. Once you've done that, ALL values of "Key" exist, so the "not exists(Key)" is always false, so you load nothing from Table2.

Needing to rename the key fields as you read them in isn't a problem, but does require a slight syntax change. The below does the trick. Notice the expanded syntax on the exists() statement.

The WHERE conditions on each table won't cause data problems that I can see, but WILL prevent an optimized load, so performance will suffer. I'll set that aside for now, though, as I don't know that you have an actual performance problem, since that wasn't what you were asking about.

Anyway, here's a working new script and attached example:

Want:
LOAD
Key1 as Key
,Subkey
,A as C
INLINE
[Key1, Subkey, A
1, 1.1, a
2, 2.1, b
2, 2.2, c
5, 5.1, d
5, 5.2, e
6, 6.1,
]
WHERE A > '~'
;

CONCATENATE (Want)