Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing a new Enhanced File Management feature in Qlik Cloud! GET THE DETAILS!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

General QLikeView Advice and ETL / Expression Question

Hi There

I am doing a project where there are basic facts but a lot of business rules must be applied to the data.

I am new to QLikView and this i smy first project so please understand these may be stupid questions.

I have done all the tutorials and ELlearning etc, howevre they do not cover expressions and scripting in much detail and i cannot find more advacned resources on these (one day i will have time to study the reference manaul :))

First question:

In general is it better to do the business rules and formulas and all the data manipulation upfront say in the database and use that data into QLikview. Or use scripting / expressions for this.

I am been advised to use QLikView powerful scripting etc and not to use complex sql statements for loading data, however being new to QLikView i am finding it very difficult to get used to the scripting. So is it OK to do all of this upfront and not in QLikView?

Lastly some general expression help:

If i have a fact row as below:

TimeKey Measure DateValue1 DateValue2 DateValue3

20090112 100.12 2009/03/01 2009/02/13 2008/12/09

In QLikView i need to build expression with business rules as mentioned above.

The rule is that if various combinations of the DateValues 1-3 are filled the Measure value must be added or subtracted, how do i do that?

I hate to waste your guys time with trivial questions, so if you could point me in the right directions to expressions that apply business rules that would be great.

Does the QlikView cookbook have this information ?

The expression examples i have found are more around Year to Year and variance expressions, not logical rules based on other fact attributes.