Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ngrunoz
Contributor II
Contributor II

Generic Load

Hi guys.

I have Data which comes in in the form of a CSV file . It is structured As [ Key, Attribute, Value]. I want to pivot the Data  and have the questions as headers.

I am still very new to Qlikview so I have tried to use the Generic Load and it has created multiple Tables and I am not sure how to join the Tables to make one table  as the Attribute section has got over hundred different questions which has resulted in Hundreds of tables which looks clumsy and hard to work with.

Requirements:

1. I need to join the tables to make them One table
  2. I need to only load just only a few of the questions for my analysis for argument sake lets say only ( D.O.B, Ave Income, Employment Status) over the hundreds of questions.
    1. Would you advice that I do this in the scripting
    2. or I do it in the UI
    3. Which expression can I Use
  3. On Another note am I able manipulate the expressions that in the current format if it encounter a question which has a response in the form on number then it group the count expression using Class in the UI. eg  Employment Status = 500 employees then  Average Income $0 - $100 = 70 , $101 - $300 = 230 , Over $300 = 200.

• Citizen CodeQuestionResponse
    ZZZ1222D.O.B23/12/1979
    ZZZ1222Ave Income$560
    ZZZ1222Employment StatusPart Time
    ZZZ1222Education LevelHigh School
    ZZZ1222Family Size4
    ZZZ1223D.O.B23/12/1969
    ZZZ1223Ave Income$100
    ZZZ1223Employment StatusRetired
    ZZZ1223Education LevelPrimary
    ZZZ1223Family Size8

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
marcus_sommer

In general it worked but you have several records with the same attributes in your data and therefore you will get multiple records through the join - you might need some data-cleansing for it.

- Marcus

View solution in original post

15 Replies
marcus_sommer