Skip to main content
Announcements
See why Qlik is a Leader in the 2024 Gartner® Magic Quadrant™ for Analytics & BI Platforms. Download Now
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Help with improving performance of charts that's using a if statement

Hi All

I currently use qlikview to do metrics reporting on our IT ticket metrics.  I have a chart that sums the number of tickets created and closed by month:

chart.jpg

I have a table of master calendar information.  I have a table of all of the tickets.

The dimension of the chart is Calendar_MonthName.

The expressions are:

sum(if(Calendar_MonthName=MonthName(local_creation_date), pm_created_count))

sum(if(Calendar_MonthName=MonthName(local_closed_date), pm_closed_count))

for each ticket that's created, pm_created_count = 1

for each ticket that's closed, pm_closed_count = 1

I did that so I can do a sum which I understand is faster than a count

Everytime I load new data, it takes several seconds for the chart to process.  I like to improve the performance of the chart and I want to move the data into the load portion but I'm not sure how to do that.

Any suggestions?

5 Replies
jagan
Luminary Alumni
Luminary Alumni

Hi,

You can improve the performance by using the set analysis.  Use the expressions below

sum({<Calendar_MonthName={'=$(=MonthName(local_creation_date))'}>} pm_created_count))

sum({<Calendar_MonthName={'=$(=MonthName(local_closed_date))'}>} pm_closed_count))

Regards,

jagan.

CELAMBARASAN
Partner - Champion
Partner - Champion

Hi,

Using Set analysis is always more performance in all places.

Try with this,    

sum({<Calendar_MonthName={'$(=MonthName(local_creation_date))'}>} pm_created_count))

sum({<Calendar_MonthName={'$(=MonthName(local_closed_date))'}>} pm_closed_count))

before that is local_creation_date and local_closed_date are field names?

Celambarasan

Oleg_Troyansky
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP