Skip to main content
Announcements
July 15, NEW Customer Portal: Initial launch will improve how you submit Support Cases. IMPORTANT DETAILS
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
pranaview
Creator III
Creator III

Hiding an expression on a Line chart based on a user selection on another chart

Hi Guys,

So , I have two charts 1)Stacked Bar 2) Line Chart. I have three expressions in the Line chart and I want to hide one of the them if the user selects something specific in the Bar Chart. I mean it's not just about selection in the bar chart, it is more about the selecting some specific dim values.

The bar chart is based on the Field1 which have four status in it for ex : Status1/Status2/Status3/Status4.

Now the expression that I want to hide simply shows the count of records which has Status3. So now what user wants is to hide this expression whenever any status is selected except Status3.

I'm fairly new to QV so I am not sure how can I achieve this. I need to come up with the solution quickly as this is an urgent requirement so any suggestion will be very helpful.

Thanks,

Pranav

6 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

not sure if I understood your requirements completely
I achieved the following:
I select a Dimension in one Chart
I goto other Chart; one Expression is hidden
What I did:
Create a variable VTEST with if (match(Dimension,'Status1','Status2','Status4'),1,0)
and define your Expression with conditional layout =vTEST
Hope this helps, if not give more info

pranaview
Creator III
Creator III
Author

HI @Anonymous,
Thanks for the suggestion.
So i tried the solution using variable creation but it did not work ( I directly addedit in Settings>Variable Overview with the definition that you have suggested and then went to the my Line chart expression and checked the conditional checkbox and added =vTest)