Skip to main content
Announcements
See why Qlik is a Leader in the 2024 Gartner® Magic Quadrant™ for Analytics & BI Platforms. Download Now
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How do I load a few tables without consuming 50GB + RAM?

First, you should know this is my first attempt at using Qlikview.  I am a highly experienced Power Pivot user and am trying to replicate some analysis in Qlikview that I have done in Power Pivot and Excel.

I am using a SQL Server database as the data source.  I am going to reduce from the following numbers as this has taken all the RAM i had (24 GB) and filled the C drive with the swap file and I still had no data loaded.  I am using the OLE DB driver and basic select scripts in the scripting file.

From what I can tell, this has to do with the high volume of text (varchar) columns I am pulling in.  I am hitting 1 view with 7000 columns which is my largest table to pull in.  I am pulling in 13 tables, 4 of which can be loosely classified as fact tables.  That means the remaining tables are going to have heavy text usage in them.

My current source sizes are 16061 rows and 15  MB.  I add a pivoted version of the data later which could double this.

My next steps are to reduce the tables to a small footprint, starting with dimension tables and then add a fact table.  But I need to understand what basic design principle in Qlikview I am missing as this data is tiny.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Miguel_Angel_Baeyens

Hi,

Just to make sure that I understand your question, does loading 16K rows worth 15MB of disk use 50GB+ RAM?