Skip to main content
Announcements
Customer Spotlight: Discover what’s possible with embedded analytics Oct. 16 at 10:00 AM ET: REGISTER NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How to perform a join on dates

Hello everyone! I’m new to QV, and need a suggestion for the following problem:

I have  a table DimTime that I’m loading from one datasource, here is the structure:

Columns:

Day (PK)

Week_Start

Week_End

Month

Quarter

Year

Now, I have my Orders table I’m bringing from another datasource, and here is the structure:

OrderID,

StartDate,

Stop Date,

Price

Our orders “run” for a period of time, paying the us the same fixed price each week they are running, so that’s why we have OrderID, StartDate and EndDate.

Now, in order to calculate Revenue for each particular week I need to see what orders were running during that week, in SQL I would do something like:

Select

SUM(Price)

From Orders

Where StartDate <= [Last Day of Week] and (StopDate > [Last Day Of Week>] or StopDate = ‘0000-00-00’)

That will give me all the orders that started running anytime prior or during the week, and were still running after the end of this week.

Because of that specific, if in QlikView I join my DimTime and Orders table on Day and StartDate, I won’t get the needed result. For each week I need to grab all orders that that started running before or during this week, and continued running after the week ended.

It would be great if anyone could point me in the right direction, it’d be just great.

4 Replies
johnw
Champion III
Champion III

I'm not following exactly, but I believe that "intervalmatch" is the right direction.  Have a look in the help text for that, and let me know if you need more help.  I suspect you'll be able to figure it out from there.

Not applicable
Author

I would suggest you create a report date on the result of your 2nd query. So you then join your calendar table to that unified report date.

ie.

OrderID,