Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How to select records with multiple conditions

I'm writing a WIP report using QuickBooks Advanced Reporting, which is built on QlikView.  I have built a pivot table that collects the data I need, but now I need to filter the records based on multiple conditions.  Specifically:

[Customer.Job Start Date] is not blank and

(([Customer.Job End Date] is blank) or ([Customer.Job End Date] > 10/31/2016)

Using a list box, I have been able to select records where [Customer.Job End Date] > 10/31/2016 quite easily using a list box and advanced search.  I have not been able to select records where either of these fields is blank or not blank, much less combine all these conditions.

I'm a newbie, so perhaps this is simple and I just don't know the proper syntax.  Can anybody suggest a method to accomplish this?

9 Replies
swuehl
MVP
MVP

Maybe like

=len(trim([Customer Job Start Date]))>0 and (len(trim([Customer Job End Date]))=0 or [Customer Job End Date] > makedate(2016,10,31) )

Not applicable
Author

Thanks Stefan.  I tested this in pieces.

[Customer Job End Date] > makedate(2016,10,31) does yield records with end dates greater than 10/31/2016

len(trim([Customer Job End Date]))=0 yields all records

len(trim([Customer Job Start Date]))>0 yields records with a start date