Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Is it possible to run a macro for each row of a chart (table)

Hi all,

I'm new to Qlikview and have had a search around but couldn't find what I'm after.

I have a chart which has a 1 dimension (region) and several expressions (sales, cost, margin etc.). One of my expressions needs some quite specific calculations, so I've put this in a macro (VB script).

What I want to do is for each row (region) that is written to the chart (there's only about 10 regions in all) I want to execute the macro but it doesn't seem to work.

I'm aware that I could create a calculated dimension as part of the chart but when I try and build the expression it won't allow me to execute a macro

Regards,

Geoff.

16 Replies
Yousef_Amarneh
Partner - Creator III
Partner - Creator III

can you share an example?

Yousef Amarneh
rphpacheco
Creator III
Creator III

I believe that you can solve this problem without the use of macros.

If you can post an example.

Not applicable
Author

Hi Guys,

thanks for the responses. I'll have to create a test Qlikview to show the issue, which will take me some time, but in the mean time are you able to answer the question please? . . .

What I want to do is for each row in a chart I want to execute a macro (call a function or sub-routine). Is this possible?

Thanks in advance.

Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

I don't think you can call a VBScript function from a front end expression.  The best bet is to follow the advice from Raphael Pacheco  and create the appropriate expressions in the chart.  I can't imagine that it would be impossible (well, I admit in advance that my imagination is limited )

marcus_sommer