Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Macro SQL INSERT

Hi guys,

Long story short here, I want to do a simple UPDATE records in a SQL database via macro.

Here is what I've found in the API guide:

sub Update

rem Set con = CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")

rem Set cmd = CreateObject("ADODB.Command")

rem con.Open "Provider=SQLOLEDB.1;Data Source=ip-sql;Initial Catalog=qlikviewDB","user","pass"

SET Result = ActiveDocument.DynamicUpdateCommand ("UPDATE qlikviewDB.dbo.qvTileSettings SET questionID = 30, itemTagID = 340 ,kpiID = 3 WHERE surveyID = 1 AND TileID = 1")

if Result = false then

MsgBox Result.ErrorMessage

end if

end sub

The API Guide doesn't talk about the SQL connection at all, I did some research (you can see the code in comment. Is it because it's using the connect command from the QVW itself? Doesn't seem to work.

In short, I'm far from a VBScript expert, and to save time, I'm sure one of you guys already has a routine handy that does exactly that 🙂

If you could lend a hand, that would be appreciated, as always.

Thanks a bunch.

8 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Hello Nicolas,

The DynamicUpdateCommand is actually for inserting data on the fly into a QlikView document which is basically done the same way as updating a database.

Try searching the forums for writing to database and you should be able to find a few examples on how to do this. There are also plenty of VBscript examples available online for opening database connections and passing queries.

Not applicable
Author

Hmm. Make more sense... thanks.

In the meantime, I need to do exactly that too, update the logical Qlikview tables. So, I've played around with the Dynamic Update Command, and I can't get it to work. I haven't found any official documentation yet...

Here is my code sample:

SET Result = ActiveDocument.DynamicUpdateCommand ("UPDATE * SET C.QuestionID = '3450' WHERE C.TileID = 1 AND SurveyID = 1")