Skip to main content
Announcements
See why Qlik is a Leader in the 2024 Gartner® Magic Quadrant™ for Analytics & BI Platforms. Download Now
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Map Functionality in QlikSense?

Hi All,

On a scale between 1-10, I am about a 4 (with my Qlik Sense skills).  Which means I am fairly new to Qlik and not super technical (but trying!).

I tried to find to find some Youtube tutorials without much luck and many folks talk about a KML file that I need to download.
Can someone please provide me step by step instructions on how to create a heat map? (I am used to the drag and drop functionality of tableau).  I would like the ability to create a heat map and color it by the different hierarchical cuts of data (e.g. Region, District, Territory) based on the zipcodes.

Thanks so much!

Pauline

My file layout:  An excel file that has Zipcode to Territory Mapping

Region  District             Territory          Zipcode  

East      Mid-Atlantic      New Jersey    xxxxx

East      Mid-Atlantic      Philadelphia   xxxxx

West     Southeast         Los Angeles  xxxxx          

3 Replies
Oleg_Troyansky
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Hi Pauline,

this might be a bit too much for a community post, but the good news are - it's described with a lot of detail, and with a hands-on example, in my book QlikView Your Business. Plus, you can learn many other valuable techniques that are applicable to both QlikView and Qlik Sense.

enjoy!

Oleg Troyansky

Not applicable
Author

A KML file contains Names & Longitude / Latitude ie.

<name>00014</name> // ZIP

<coordinates>-112.831344,31.884355,0.0 -112.875884,31.898102</coordinates>

The Longitude / Latitude coordinates make up the map outline or "polygonal shape" (useful keyword when googling).

To fill your requirement you'll need to find a KML that has US Zipcodes, discussed here