Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing a new Enhanced File Management feature in Qlik Cloud! GET THE DETAILS!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Master Calendar Overview

hey guys...I'm new to the master calendar concept. Could any of you please give me a quick overview of how to address the problem below -

I'm working on an Inventory Accuracy Report. There are 2 tables - one called Counts which contains 2 date fields "Count Created Date" and "Count Completed Date", second one called Adjustments which contains 2 date fields "Adj Created Date" and "Adj Completed Date".

I have various calculations based on each of these 4 different dates separately.

I'm trying to have one single calendar that ties these 4 dates together so that the selected dates should determine the calculations appropriately corresponding each of those 4 different dates.

Your suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

2 Replies
Oleg_Troyansky
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Generally (or rather traditionally) speaking, - 4 dates require 4 distinct Calendars - then, however, it's hard to position them on on the same time line of years, months etc...

Another, more advanced, data structure, could be built, where the date field is the same, but the quantities and counters could be different - for example, each Count record could be split into 2 records with the field Date and with the counters - "Count Created Counter" = 1 where the Date = Count Created Date and "Count Completed Counter" = 1 where Date = Count Completed Date. This way, you could have a single time line but different expressions for dirrefent events. Your number of rows needs to double in order to implement this approach.