cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
djbloiss
Contributor III
Contributor III

More expandable Expressions as Variables

This isn't a question.  I tried to add this to the blog because it would be useful to the community but it wouldn't let me.

I am new to Qlikview and my company gave me a task to convert all our heavily used expressions in to variables.  We want to do this because:

1) Improved maintainability -- you don't have to edit all occurrences of an expression in an application, but only once

2) Faster development - you won't have to type as much

3) Better readability -- you have much better readability of your expressions because their (sometimes complex) logic is actually replaced with its brief explanation

As I researched this topic and tested on my qlikview documents, it came apparent different people have posted pieces necessary for this to work but not all of it and those pieces have been scattered around in many different documents and posts.  This took me a couple of days to compile, so I decided to spread the knowledge for others to benefit.

I found these sources that aided me on my task:

http://www.johndaniel.com/index.php/when-values-arent-values-null-handling-in-qlik/

QlikView #022: Storing Expressions into Variables - YouTube

Comma problem (,) workaround for dollar sign expansion with parameters

Now, what is the issue that none of them fully detailed?

Lets start with a simple expression:

Sum([Item sales-net])

And you use it like follows:

Variable NameVariableCall in Chart Object
e_slsSum([Item sales-net])

$(e_sls)

but what if you then want to do an Average of [Item sales-net]. Do you need to add a separate variable? No, a simple change allows you to use any function to start the expression:

e_sls$1([Item sales-net])$(e_sls(Sum))

Coming along fine but now what if your set analysis uses multiple parameters?  Well you can do this:

$1({<$2, $3, $4>} [Item sales-net])