Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
bobbydave
Creator III
Creator III

Opening another application using a button

Hey guys,

So I have an application. On this application is a button that will open another application in the same location.

Application 1: Premiums

Application 2: Claims

If I press button on Application 1, application 2 will open. 2 separate applications.

So now, in Access Point, I open the first application and view it in IE, when I click on the button to open Application 2, it tries to open the QVW and asks me if I want to open or save the QVW. As this is my first time using the launch button to open the second app, I was imagining it would just open another tab with application 2?

Needless to say, it aint working.

Any pointers?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
sgrice
Partner - Creator II
Partner - Creator II

Make sure that Both documents are accessible throw access point. and that they both Open.

Then change the Open Document Action to just have The document Name without any path [i.e. C:\qlikview\mydoc.qvw --> mydoc.qvw]

This will work fine if both documents are in the same folder and both can be seen by accesspoint.

If they are in separate location and are mounted by different Accesspoint mounts then you have to put the name of the mount point in front of the document name in the Action.

View solution in original post

7 Replies
Gysbert_Wassenaar

Perhaps this discussion helps: Passing Parameters in a URL and Document Chaining

talk is cheap, supply exceeds demand
sgrice
Partner - Creator II
Partner - Creator II

Make sure that Both documents are accessible throw access point. and that they both Open.

Then change the Open Document Action to just have The document Name without any path [i.e. C:\qlikview\mydoc.qvw --> mydoc.qvw]

This will work fine if both documents are in the same folder and both can be seen by accesspoint.