Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing a new Enhanced File Management feature in Qlik Cloud! GET THE DETAILS!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
nisha_rai
Creator II
Creator II

Replace the Combination Logic

Hi,

I am new in qlikview ,please help me to resolve the issue

we have one table in which we have 4 column based on the combination of 4 column we are creating the new coulmn.

I want to replace the combination logic in other one.

for example:

table1 :

IdLateErrorTrainingIssueFlag
1No
21Yes
3YYes
4YYes
51Yes
61YYes
71YYes
811Yes
9YYYes
101YY1Yes

want to replace the below formula if(Flag='Yes' , if (Late>=1,1,0) & if (Error='Y',2,0)& if(Training='Y',3,0)& if(Issue>=1,4,0)) as Issue_Type

now we have only 4 column then it's easy to use permutation and combination logiv but in future if the column will increase from 4 to 8 then we have to create  so many combination name manulaay is difficult.

Thanks in advance

Regards,

Nisha

20 Replies
Gysbert_Wassenaar

It looks like you're trying to create some 'binary' like field where each 'bit' indicates an issue. Why? Such a field is extremely hard for a human to parse and understand. It's useless in charts and tables on dashboards.

talk is cheap, supply exceeds demand
nisha_rai
Creator II
Creator II
Author

Thanks  for your response,                       

Yes, I am agree with you , but after that we are using inline lable which is giving you the idea about what exactly the values say. For example:

0000- other

1000-Late

0200-Error

0030- Training

0004- Issue

1200-Late

1200-Error and so on

for 4 columns it's fine to create inline table but if tcolumn number increase from 4 to 8 then it's hard to create inline or excel table, that's why i want to replace that logic.

pathiqvd
Creator III
Creator III

Hi,

Try like this,

A:

lOAD*,

IF(flag2=0004,'isuue',IF(flag2=0030,'Training',if(flag2=0200,'Error',if(flag2=1000,'Late','Other')))) as flag3;

LOAD *,