Announcements
Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Syntax question, regarding how to use a variable inside set analysis

Hi I'm new to Qlikview and have a syntax question, regarding how to use a variable inside set analysis.

I need to use two filters for worked hours, they work separately but not when combined.

This works:

sum({$<[Store Name]-={'Name1','Name2'}>} Worked_Hours)

This works:

sum( $(v_LastWeek_Filter) Worked_Hours)

But when I combine them it does not work:

sum({$<DateKey={$(v_LastWeek_Filter)},[Store Name]-={'Name1','Name2'}>} Worked_Hours)

I have tried different things like putting an equal sign and commas here and there but without luck, can anyone help?

Regards.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Peter_Cammaert
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

A possible solution:

Put a list of set modifiers in v_LastWeek_filter instead of a complete set spec:

DateKey={"$(='>=' & '$(v_StartOfLastWeek)' & '<=' & '$(v_EndOfLastWeek)')"},Year=,Week=,Day=,Month,fYear=

Rewrite your expression so that it includes these set modifiers in an existing set spec, like in:

sum({$<$(v_LastWeek_Filter),[Store Name]-={'Name1','Name2'}>} Worked_Hours)

The small version that will still work then becomes something like this:

sum({$<$(v_LastWeek_Filter)>} Worked_Hours)

Best,

Peter

View solution in original post

7 Replies
Miguel_Angel_Baeyens

Hi Guðmundur,

It all comes to first how the variable has been SET or LET and second, what the variable actually contains.

If $(v_LastWeek_Filter) equals to 7, a numeric value that matches DateKey, then the syntax is correct.

But my guess is that this variable has a date representation (DD/MM/YYYY) or something similar, therefore you need single quotes to match properly:

Sum({$<DateKey={'$(v_LastWeek_Filter)'},[Store Name]-={'Name1','Name2'}>} Worked_Hours)