Skip to main content
Announcements
See why Qlik is a Leader in the 2024 Gartner® Magic Quadrant™ for Analytics & BI Platforms. Download Now
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Using expressions inside other expressions problems.

Hi All, I'm new to Qlikview and this is my first post. I've found this forum super useful so far so hopefully you can help!

I have Data in a pivot table that looks roughly like the below, and I'm having a really frustrating time trying to use the values of previous expressions in later ones.

I have a column of Values, and then another expression "OnlyNegValues" that uses an if statement to grab only the negative values (change any positive value to 0). This part works fine.

I am trying to create a column that sums the "OnlyNegValues" column for each parent, which i thought should be really simple but I feel like I've tried everything and can't get it.

I thought it should be some simple formula like =Aggr(sum(OnlyNegValues), Parent) but that doesn't work. I've tried a bunch of different things, sometimes i can get it to sum up ALL of the values as I show here (not just the negative ones) other times I get just an entire column of zeros.

Any help you have is greatly appreciated!

ParentChildValuesOnlyNegValuesSum of Negative Values - WRONGDESRIED
PC1$1.4$0.00-
PC2$0.5$0.00-
PC3($0.6)($0.63)-
PC4($2.2)($2.21)-1.0031640270963-2.84
P2C5$1.0$0.00
P2C6($0.5)($0.50)0.5-0.5
14 Replies
sunny_talwar

This?

Capture.PNG

Expression:

=Sum(Total <Parent> Aggr(if(((Sum({$<Counterparty_SECFIN-={"$('-'))"},Scenario_Name={'Risk Off'}>} CV_dirty_MV_PC)

-

Sum({$<CV_reserve_mark-={'(none)'},Scenario_Name={'Risk Off'},CV_Instrument_type={'Bond','ABS','Index Bond','CP'}>} if(CV_collateral=Forward_Issue_ID, Forward_Issue_MV,0))

+

Sum({$<Counterparty_SECFIN-={"$('-'))"},Scenario_Name={'Risk Off'}>} LST_scenario1_total_PL)

-