Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Year to Date vs Year to date Last Year

I'm new to Qlikview and am trying to get something I thought was relatively simple but seems to keep alluding me. I've been going through the forums and watched the training on set analysis and didn't have any luck getting the right formula to work. Hopefully you can all help me. 🙂

I'm trying to get a line Chart with YTD numbers, PRevious YTD and Previous MTD numbers. The chart is by day It simply counts by Order_date how many orders there are on each day. I have a date picker for year/month/day that is linked to a mastercalendar. So when someone picks something like 2010-10-15 they should see the YTD up to that point the Previous YTD and the Previous MTD up to that point. When nothing is chosen it can default to showing current day. Which I think it would do by default anyways but perhaps I have to code something for that as well. 🙂

My dates are ORder_date and DetailDay for the master calendar. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Pat

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
stevedark
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Hi Pat,

As you say this is something that is quite a common requirement, yet it is not by any means simple to implement.

I've attached a basic example that should give you an idea of what you need to do to construct what you are looking for.

Perhaps the biggest potential gotcha with these types of comparison (and set analysis on dates in particular) is that the format of the date you are comparing too must exactly match the format of the date in the field. Consistency is king here.

You do not need to put all of the calculations date parts to compare to into variables - but I find it the easiest way to keep tabs on what is happening.