Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Reg:What are optimization techniques available in QlikView?

Hi All,

Wishes from Jai.I have developed one QVW i n material costing.The size of the application about 66929KB.So I would like

to reduce the file size as well as improve the performance.Since I am new to the optimization techniques I dont have much knowladge

about it.So let me know in which ways,how can I improve the performance of the application?What are the optimization techniques available.

Note:

I am linking the tables using 'KEY' fields.So there is no synthetic keys avilable.

Thanks & Regards

Jai

12 Replies
spsrk_84
Creator III
Creator III

Hi Jai,

Did u created the Qvd's ? if not create the qvd's from the data and use qvd files for your analysis,but this process is bit time consuming since at first u need to store raw data into qvd and then u need to fetch these qvd's into Another Qvw application for your analysis..

When u convert/store the raw data from database into qvd format the original data will be compressed up to 90%,this is the advantage...

Second thing dont perform the calculations in the GUI ie. do not write complex expressions in any chart or pivot tables try to perform or try to elminate the calculations in the front end and do them in the script level itself

Third thing like if u r using any if statements in the expressions of charts try to elminate them,instead of that u generate a flag indicator i.e

example if u want to count the no of employess with Sal >10K then do this in the script like

if(sal> 10K,1,0) as Empcount

and when u use this in the expression inthe chart u can use like just sum(EmpCount) which will gives the correct result

Apart from the above listed there are few other techniques ike

Elminate Synthetic keys in the Data Cloud.....

Regards,

Ajay

Not applicable
Author

Hi Jai,