Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Shamanth
Contributor
Contributor

Can we blend data in Qlik Cloud as we do in Tableau

Hi Experts,

I am new to Qlik Cloud, please help me to resolve the below issue!!

I have two fact tables of different granularity, which I want to aggregate before joining in my Data load editor, in tableau it can be done using Data Blending option but Qlik Cloud I am not able to perform the same. Please provide the alternative or work around for the same in Qlik Cloud.

Labels (3)
6 Replies
sbaro_bd
Creator
Creator

Hi @Shamanth ,

For this point, Qlik Sense has an advantage on Tableau : the scripting for making some ETL operations. No need a workaround, just use the scripting in data load editor to perfom that.

Regards.

Steve_Martin
Contributor III
Contributor III

Hi @Shamanth,

Unfortunately, Tableau treats data sources very different to Qlik. Qlik loads all the data from multiple data sources to create a form of composite model, this way all data is maintained within its original structure very similar to how the Tableau relationship model has worked since v2020.2.

Blends on the other hand are the older method for Tableau to create an aggregated join between two sources, and whilst blends were kinda superseded back in 2015 with the addition of level-of-detail expressions, they still have their benefits albeit, at a much reduced performance due to the need to pre-aggregate the data.

LODx - keep an eye on this as these are functionally similar to the Qlik calc staple - Set Calcs, you might be able to achieve the same using a Set calc, albeit, from the ingested data from your load script.

Also, it'd be an idea to create a composite join field in the tables to help with the calc process later on down the line.

Steve 

shansen
Partner - Contributor III