Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
gcharlesworth
Contributor II
Contributor II

External Facing Qlik Sense App in Salesforce

Hello fellow Devs and Qlik experts -

I was recently assigned to be the project lead for the development of an external facing scorecard that is to be created in Qlik Sense then embedded and accessed within Saleforce by external users (customers). The data is presumed to then be locked and filtered using Section Access based on the users Salesforce login. I am a BI dev so the ETL, data modeling, and front-end design is not a concern for this project.

My main areas of concern are that our Qlik Sense production server in Azure is not currently deployed into the DMZ; we have not created a SAML connection between Qlik Sense and Salesforce; and I am unsure how Qlik Sense will be able to authenticate external users with Section Access since they are not in our AD.

Since I am just a BI dev, the IT infrastructure changes that need to be made in order to complete this project is very foreign to me.

Based on my research and (very limited) infrastructural technical knowledge, I have determined that these are following steps that our organization will have to take in order to make this project a reality:

1. Re-deploy Qlik Sense Production server and application into DMZ network
    1. Reference: Qlik Sense deployment in a DMZ Environment
  2. Create SAML connection between Qlik Sense and Salesforce
    1. Reference: Video Link : 3605
  3. Write Section Access script to authenticate customers using Salesforce login information (communicated to Qlik???)
    1. This part I am very fuzzy on as I have no idea how Qlik will be able to authenticate a user coming from outside our network