Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

[resolved] Sending SMTP Mail with attachment fails due to curious Class cast

Hello everybody.
I'm new to the Talend ESB and of course I've read the manuals, but now I'm stuck with a strange behaviour.
I'd like to set up a route consuming files from a SFTP server, transfering them to our server's tmp directory. After each file is transferred, I'd like to send the file as attachment within an email to our mail server. So far so good. 😉
I managed to establish the sftp connection, transfer the files and even send a plain text email with the transferred file name. But as soon as I am trying to create an attachment via an javax.activationDataHandler and passing this object to the Method addAttachment(...) of the outgoing message, the esb console throws an exception:
2011-12-12 12:55:51,580 | ERROR | _transfer/Archiv | DefaultErrorHandler | ache.camel.processor.CamelLogger 232 | 158 - org.apache.camel.camel-cor
e - 2.8.2 | Failed delivery for exchangeId: ID-Q4DE8ISY507-60685-1323690312020-2-17. Exhausted after delivery attempt: 1 caught: org.springframework.mail.MailPreparationException: Could not prepare mail; nested exception is java.lang.ClassCastException: javax.activation.DataHandler cannot be cast to javax.activation.DataHandler
org.springframework.mail.MailPreparationException: Could not prepare mail; nested exception is java.lang.ClassCastException: javax.activation.DataHandler cannot
be cast to javax.activation.DataHandler
at org.springframework.mail.javamail.JavaMailSenderImpl.send(JavaMailSenderImpl.java:367)
at org.springframework.mail.javamail.JavaMailSenderImpl.send(JavaMailSenderImpl.java:344)
at org.apache.camel.component.mail.MailProducer.process(MailProducer.java:44)