Skip to main content
Announcements
See why Qlik is a Leader in the 2024 Gartner® Magic Quadrant™ for Analytics & BI Platforms. Download Now
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
therealdees
Creator III
Creator III

Help parsing XML Response

Hi,

I'm having trouble trying to parse a XML SOAP response in Qlik, using the REST connector and hoping someone could help me out.

I'm not very experienced in the subject, but I've managed to get the response. The problem is that it comes in a single field and I don't know how parse it as a table.

1. I've set the body and header in the REST connector, and added the wsdl as the URL request. If I click "test connection" it says "succeeded".

2. If I click on the "select data" button in the connector, it opens the preview table, but it automatically is read as a CSV. If I change the option to XML, only the headers will show in the preview (no data is retrieved), while the CSV will show the actual response data encapsulated in a single cell.

therealdees_0-1715700569654.png

(if I hover the value I see the same response I get in postman, which is correct)

therealdees_1-1715700607338.png

(XML doesn't return values, but only these columns)

How can I display this response as table in Qlik?

therealdees_2-1715700923039.png

PS: I've noticed the response I get carries "&lt;" and "&gt;" which I found out to be the "<>" chars. Not sure if it's relevant.

Labels (5)
5 Replies
lind_oliveira20
Partner - Contributor II
Partner - Contributor II

In the REST connection you must place the following content in the Query headers:
Name: Content-Type
Value: text/xml; charset=utf-8

lind_oliveira20_0-1715709490818.png

Then just test the connection and save.

The next step is to click on select data and select the last XML tag.

lind_oliveira20_1-1715709516767.png

The API used in the test returns the name of the list of countries