Skip to main content
Announcements
See what Drew Clarke has to say about the Qlik Talend Cloud launch! READ THE BLOG
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
evanadley
Contributor
Contributor

How to Secure Backend API Endpoints on the Front-End: Best Practices

I'm new to web development and currently working on an application with a React frontend and a Node backend API server.

I've noticed that all requests from my front-end are accessible to the client, which means that anyone can view and potentially call my API endpoints independently. This raises concerns about the security of my application. I am interested in restricting API calls only to those originating from my front-end app. How can I go about achieving this?

Is there a way to conceal my endpoints from the client?

Labels (5)
1 Reply
Latonya86Dodson
Contributor
Contributor

@evanadleyBe Ball Players wrote:

I'm new to web development and currently working on an application with a React frontend and a Node backend API server.

I've noticed that all requests from my front-end are accessible to the client, which means that anyone can view and potentially call my API endpoints independently. This raises concerns about the security of my application. I am interested in restricting API calls only to those originating from my front-end app. How can I go about achieving this?

Is there a way to conceal my endpoints from the client?

Hello,

First of all, you should always use TLS (Transport Layer Security) to encrypt your messages while they’re in transit. This will prevent third parties from intercepting and reading sensitive information, such as API credentials and private data. TLS also lets users know that your API is legitimate and protected.