Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Connect 2025: 3 days of full immersion in data, analytics, and AI. May 13-15 | Orlando, FL: Learn More
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
S_Gegg
Partner - Contributor II
Partner - Contributor II

Subscribe to a sheet - variables not considered, bug?

Dear Qlik Community,

I'd like to adress a bug in QlikCloud, where the "Subscribe to sheet" functionality does not consider the variables in the app.

Actually, I have a subscription to a page, showing figures for the whole year, and the figures of last month. The last month is set by a variable.

Unfortunately, the variable does not change in the subscription. In the app itself, I can see a different month than in the subscribed report.

My assumption is, that the subscription does not consider the variable - or: the subscription functionality does "freeze" the variables from the point in time, when the subscription is being created.

So what I have to do now is to delete the old subscription and create a new one, so that the latest status of the variable is considered.

Any other ideas, workaround, or ideas where to adress this "feature"?

Thanks

BR

Stefan

Labels (4)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
amonjaras_c40
Luminary
Luminary

A way to test your theory (the variable is not reevaluated unless you open the actual app) would be to create a duplicate of your chart, substituting the variable with the whole formula in its expression(s), then subscribing to that chart to see if it updates.

As for it being a bug, since subscribed objects are supposed to be a quick way to get insights without opening an app, I don't know if it would be efficient (or viable) for Qlik Sense to reevaluate all variables in each app a subscribed object lives in, every time someone's home page is refreshed.

Not a solution as such, but I hope my comment helps.

View solution in original post

7 Replies
amonjaras_c40
Luminary
Luminary