Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Class function with time interval

Hello All,

I am pretty new with qlikview and I need your help on solving my problem.

My data contains two separate time (Status_U and Status_F) where status U is when the vehicle got their assignment and status F is when the vehicle has arrived to their assignment and one column of area.

I want to create class interval of waiting time (Status_F - Status_U) with interval of <10 minutes, <20 minutes, 10-15 minutes, 15-30 minutes, 30-45 minutes, 45-60 minutes and >60 minutes. I tried to use class function but it didn't work and I am really confuse.

Another problem is that I am using binary code to read from another qlikview file. Therefore I can't change anything from the database (excel file).

Any suggestions and help are well appreciated.

Thank you in advance

Arini

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
johnw
Champion III
Champion III

Untested, but just use this as an additional field in the same load where you load VänteTid:

If(VänteTid < time#(10,'mm'), dual('Under 10 min', 1),
If(VänteTid <= time#(15,'mm'), dual('10-15 Min' ,10),
If(VänteTid <= time#(30,'mm'), dual('15-30 Min' ,15),
If(VänteTid <= time#(45,'mm'), dual('30-45 Min' ,30),
If(VänteTid <= time#(60,'mm'), dual('45-60 Min'' ,45),
dual('Över 60 Min' ,60)))))) as TidInterval

Basically, I think you were on the right path, but QlikView couldn't recognize 00:15:00 as a time without you telling it explicitly that it was a time. That's what I'm doing with the time#() function. The dual() function is to help with sorting, allowing you to sort the TidInterval numerically. An intervalmatch would probably be more efficient from a load time standpoint, but I think less clear from a maintenance standpoint, particularly with inexperienced developers.