Skip to main content
Announcements
See what Drew Clarke has to say about the Qlik Talend Cloud launch! READ THE BLOG
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Class function with time interval

Hello All,

I am pretty new with qlikview and I need your help on solving my problem.

My data contains two separate time (Status_U and Status_F) where status U is when the vehicle got their assignment and status F is when the vehicle has arrived to their assignment and one column of area.

I want to create class interval of waiting time (Status_F - Status_U) with interval of <10 minutes, <20 minutes, 10-15 minutes, 15-30 minutes, 30-45 minutes, 45-60 minutes and >60 minutes. I tried to use class function but it didn't work and I am really confuse.

Another problem is that I am using binary code to read from another qlikview file. Therefore I can't change anything from the database (excel file).

Any suggestions and help are well appreciated.

Thank you in advance

Arini

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
johnw
Champion III
Champion III

Untested, but just use this as an additional field in the same load where you load VänteTid:

If(VänteTid < time#(10,'mm'), dual('Under 10 min', 1),
If(VänteTid <= time#(15,'mm'), dual('10-15 Min' ,10),
If(VänteTid <= time#(30,'mm'), dual('15-30 Min' ,15),
If(VänteTid <= time#(45,'mm'), dual('30-45 Min' ,30),
If(VänteTid <= time#(60,'mm'), dual('45-60 Min'' ,45),
dual('Över 60 Min' ,60)))))) as TidInterval

Basically, I think you were on the right path, but QlikView couldn't recognize 00:15:00 as a time without you telling it explicitly that it was a time. That's what I'm doing with the time#() function. The dual() function is to help with sorting, allowing you to sort the TidInterval numerically. An intervalmatch would probably be more efficient from a load time standpoint, but I think less clear from a maintenance standpoint, particularly with inexperienced developers.

View solution in original post