Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
pgriffiths
Creator
Creator

Connect to qvd outside of qlikview

Hi all,

I am new to qlikview and have been having loads of fun creating dashboards.

I am collecting data from lots of locations, one in USA but most around the UK.

Because this data is spread out, in the past it has been very slow to get the data for scheduled reports, but as we are now collecting this data into QVD files and constantly updating them, I would like to be able to access this collected data from the QVD on our local network but outside of Qlikview. IE Crystal Reports, Ms Access.

Does a ODBC driver for qvd files exist?

I don't think it was covered on the Designer or Developer courses.

Many thanks in advance.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Colin-Albert

When you use store to create the QVD files you have the option to store the data as csv in a text file as well.

This is not as efficient as QVD but is one option as the csv file can be opened by other applications.

store data_table into data.qvd (qvd) ;

store data_table into data.csv (txt) ;

View solution in original post

19 Replies
Colin-Albert

When you use store to create the QVD files you have the option to store the data as csv in a text file as well.

This is not as efficient as QVD but is one option as the csv file can be opened by other applications.

store data_table into data.qvd (qvd) ;

store data_table into data.csv (txt) ;

Not applicable

Pretty sure you can get QVD's read into a database using an etl importer - each file has an XML header along with a symbol table and the actual data table so in theory it's possible...

Just a pity a qvd isn't backward compatible to Excel

Not applicable

Can't you change the extension from qvd to qvx to read from another odbc connector.

IAMDV
Luminary Alumni
Luminary Alumni

Hi Pejay,