Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Strooprover
Contributor
Contributor

Count specific dimension

Hi,

I'm new to QlikView and have a question about a count function I want to apply to a chart.

I uploaded an example to this post.

I have 2 dimensions which are:
- animal_category
- animal

My expression is: Count(Animal_category).

When I count the animal_category without submitting the animal dimension to the table I get a value of 3.
But when I add the animal dimension I get a value of 1 (because QlikView counts for the combination of added dimensions).

I would like to make an expression (or a different approach) with which I can make a count of animals in the animal_category without it being influenced by the added animals.

Thanks in advance.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Anil_Babu_Samineni

Based up o how you want aggregate the TOTAL qualifier on dimension. You can add one more dimension into that TOTAL qualifier like

Count(TOTAL <Animal_category, Animal_attributes> Animal_category)

Best Anil, When applicable please mark the correct/appropriate replies as "solution" (you can mark up to 3 "solutions". Please LIKE threads if the provided solution is helpful

View solution in original post

8 Replies
Anil_Babu_Samineni

I wonder, you;ve asked proper question for below

@Strooprover wrote:

When I count the animal_category without submitting the animal dimension to the table I get a value of 3.
But when I add the animal dimension I get a value of 1 (because QlikView counts for the combination of added dimensions).

But, as per image - I still see the "animal" dimension also. Perhaps

Count(TOTAL Animal_category)

Best Anil, When applicable please mark the correct/appropriate replies as "solution" (you can mark up to 3 "solutions". Please LIKE threads if the provided solution is helpful
Strooprover