Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Connect 2025: 3 days of full immersion in data, analytics, and AI. May 13-15 | Orlando, FL: Learn More
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Data Modelling Query

All,

I am new to designing QlikView data models and would appreciate any advice which can be given.

I have raw data in two source tables which both have a 'date' field and 'business unit' reference field in them. There are another two information table of fields relating to the business units and my calendar.

If I import these four tables directly in my script I obviously generate a data loop CALENDAR > DATA1 > BUS. UNIT > DATA2 > CALENDAR.

I could rename the date field in one of the data tables - but one of the primary calculations I wish to perform is a graph of the ratio of DATA1:DATA2 across time - so renaming one of the date fields would surely cause a mismatch across the two data tables when making selections on date, wouldn't it?

Anyway, my main query is to hope that someone can suggest how I best approach these kinds of data design issues, as the data stored in the two tables is of totally different types and so I don't see how I would combine in into a single 'fact' table.

I am concious of how much of an impact a bad data design can have on a document's performance and resutls

Thanks in advance

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
johnw
Champion III
Champion III

Is there any actual problem with that data model? Are you getting correct results? On the surface, it looks like you started out just fine, then caused yourself problems trying to "solve" the synthetic key "problem". No particular reason for joining your Rooms Data and Offline Rooms is jumping out at me. As you say, the data in the two tables is very different.

View solution in original post

7 Replies
Not applicable
Author