Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Connect 2025: 3 days of full immersion in data, analytics, and AI. May 13-15 | Orlando, FL: Learn More
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Dollar-Sign Expansion's Arcane Syntax...

... continues to give me fits.

I'm new at this. Be gentle.

Here's the problem.

This expression, to count the number of employees who meet a certain criteria, seems to work just fine:

=Num(Count({<ALL_EFFECTIVE_START_DATE={"<=$(=vAsOfDate)"},

ALL_EFFECTIVE_END_DATE={">$(=vAsOfDate)"},

ALL_ASG_START_DATE={"<=$(=vAsOfDate)"},

ALL_ASG_END_DATE={">$(=vAsOfDate)"},
              ALL_JOB_TITLE={"$(=IF($(vOnlyTeachers)=1,'TEACHER','*'))"}>}

ALL_EMPLOYEE_NUMBER),'#,##0')

HOWEVER...

When I try to insert this line, containing a variable to exclude certain other types (after the END_DATE line above), it incorrectly returns zero:

ALL_USER_PERSON_TYPE={"-=$(=vUserStatusExceptions)"},

vUserStatusExceptions is defined thusly:

SET vUserStatusExceptions = 'SEPARATED' 'INACTIVE' 'AC TIVE APPLICATION' 'ACCEPTED' 'ACTIVE ASSIGNMENT' 'NEW HIRE';

So what is it this time that I'm doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.

18 Replies
sunny_talwar

If the above works, can you try one of these:

1)

ALL_USER_PERSON_TYPE-={$(vUserStatusExceptions)},ALL_JOB_TITLE {"$(=IF($(vOnlyTeachers)=1,'TEACHER','*'))"}>} ALL_EMPLOYEE_NUMBER),'#,##0')

2)

ALL_USER_PERSON_TYPE-={$(=vUserStatusExceptions)},ALL_JOB_TITLE {"$(=IF($(vOnlyTeachers)=1,'TEACHER','*'))"}>} ALL_EMPLOYEE_NUMBER),'#,##0')

Not applicable
Author

Thanks.

Unfortunately, this seems to have no effect at all, just like the previous suggestion.

Also like the previous suggestion, the editor looks like it has a problem with the -=. It puts a little squiggly mark underneath it as if to say, "You can't do that here"

sunny_talwar

Even though you get that squiggle line underneath -=, it doesn't mean that your expression is incorrect. Still if you want to avoid it, try this: