Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Dynamic AD Security for Sheet Access

Hello, I am very new to Qlikview and am trying to research how to dynamically use the AD Security users and groups to determine Sheet Access with the condition defined based on the AD Security Group. I have read through many of the posts that were related to this but am still unclear how this can be implemented dynamically. Can someone help clarify the details of how I could implement this? Thank you.

4 Replies
Not applicable
Author

I don't get it, what is the AD Security? Did you mean Dynamic Data Reduction?

Not applicable
Author

I'll try and explain what I mean by Dynamic Active Directory Security...I'd like to retrieve the Active Directory Users and Groups from the source Active Directory database (using the OLE DB Provider for Microsoft Directory Services driver (not having to load these from a different source being in an excel file or some other source). That's what I mean by dynamic, not having to hardcode these users in some other file or script. So upon retrievig the users and groups from Active Directory, then I could add a condition into a Sheet to only show the sheet for certain Active Directory Groups. Hopefully that helps clarify what I'm trying to do.

Not applicable
Author

Hi Jennifer,

I apologize, but I'm not especially familiar with AD, do coming at it from a purely QlikView perspective…

I'm going to assume that using the OLEDB Provider for AD gives you access to some table. Let's call it the User table, for sake of argument. There are a couple of approaches you could take.

1) section access

Section access is QlikView's field and row level security method. It lets you restrict people from seeing things. It's overkill for your stated requirement.

2) Sheet visibility