Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Generating Date Columns

Hi Team,

I am new to QlikView Date function. I need to get the following output table for different Date columns as listed in the table where, I have the calendar table in place.

aa.JPG

It would be very helpful, if anyone could suggest me, how to generate/calculate this kind of a table with different Dates columns populating data.

My understanding :

1) Use a Pivot table

2) To use a Calculated dimension OR

3) Create 11 different variables(i.e. -1 every variable) and use it in set analysis to achieve the same.

Can anyone update me how to carry out the same (i.e. How to create such Date related variables and apply the same in Set analysis)

Appreciate your inputs.

Thanks,

Robin

14 Replies
sunny_talwar

It would be ideal if you can provide the sample data. Then we can guide you on how you can create the above using the pivot table.

Best,

Sunny

Gysbert_Wassenaar

My advice is to use a straight table with 11 different expressions using set analysis.

A pivot table won't work unless you create a table that links the dates with a field with values like 'Last 7 Days', 'This Month', etc. and with the date values themselves.

talk is cheap, supply exceeds demand
Not applicable
Author

Hi Gysbert and Sunidia,

Thanks for your inputs.

@Gysbert : I agree with you, we cannot create a Pivot table until and unless we have a link or hierarchy between. Thus, straight table would work fine in this case.

So can you assist me how can we create the 11 variables w.r.t to get the Dates (i.e. -1 each time) or simply frame 11 set expressions to achieve the same. It would be a great help to my app.

PS. I have two fact table in my model. I will be using order table (i.e. for Set analysis - Fact_Type=order)

Many Thanks,

Robin

Gysbert_Wassenaar