Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Help with creating wild card or other match type

Hi,

I am new to working with Qlik and am hoping someone might have an idea on how to help.

I am developing a report that I can use to share donation/payment information with specific groups that my office reports out to.

Background: I work for a graduate school within a large university. Within my school are ten plus departments. Any time a donation or payment is made it is applied to an Account. Each department has several accounts, and none of the accounts are tagged with the department. All accounts have a static opening string of numbers associated with a specific department - 345.89034.xxxx.xxxxxx.xxxxx

Desired result:

Using a list box with all the department names, I would like to be able to select the department name and have my table show all the donations and payments made to that department so I can export them and share them with the intended recipients. This can't require too much effort on the part of the end user as it needs to work after I am long gone.

What I need to do:

1) Load a data set with the department names.

2) in Qlik, connect the department names with their specific account numbers. I need to use a wild card statement of some sort to match the department to the first few digits of the Account string (these never change even if a new account is created for that department).

3) I need my table to show only the gifts associated with that department when I select the department from the list box.

I will issue an advance apology, but I cannot share a data set owing to the confidentiality of the data being used.

Any thoughts or suggestions are appreciated.

4 Replies
vishsaggi
Champion III
Champion III