Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
gshockxcc
Creator
Creator

How to load multiple xls files in script

Hi,

I am VERY new to Qlikview, and I don't fully understand all of the scripting functions.  So I'm really struggling to understand how to load multiple xls files.  I did quite a bit of searching here, and I have only been able to find this link that is somewhat relevant.  When I copy that code into my script editor, I get errors that I don't know how to debug. 

I have loaded a single table, so I am somewhat familiar with how to build the script  But I don't know how to do this for all files in a directory. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

40 Replies
gshockxcc
Creator
Creator
Author

The original files are already in CSV format, each with the tab named according to the file name.  I had written a macro to open the files and "Save As" in both XLS and XLSM formats, each only has a single tab.

Thanks,

-Kristan

gshockxcc
Creator
Creator
Author

I tried the ODBC connection for a single Excel file, and none of the tags load.  Because the original data is in .CSV format, it seems like the only means to load it is through brute force.  No?

stevedark
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

CSV files do not have sheet names - there is no where for the sheet name to be stored.

It will be Excel adding the sheet name when the import macro runs.  You can save yourself a bit of pain with the macro and Excel formats simply by loading the CSVs.

I've blogged on a neat way of speeding up loads from multiple CSVs, if you search for "convert drop folder files to qvd" you should find it.

Steve

gshockxcc
Creator
Creator
Author

Steve,