Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Connect 2025: 3 days of full immersion in data, analytics, and AI. May 13-15 | Orlando, FL: Learn More
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Rolling Year/Quarter

Hi,

I'm a qlikview newbie and just wondering if there's an easy way to create a rolling year and rolling quarter based on today date?

Thanks for your help

Matt

15 Replies
Not applicable
Author

Have a look at the AddMonths() function in the manual.

Not applicable
Author

Hello Hellmar,

thank you for your help.
I thought with rolling year the last 12 months are meant. eg. 28.08.2008 - 27.08.2009.
How can I handle this and rolling quarter with addmonths? Isn't addmonths for things like fiscal year calculation?

Regards

johnw
Champion III
Champion III

Addmonths() is for any case where you need to add or subtract months. A rolling year would involve subtracting twelve months. A rolling quarter would involve subtracting three months. You could set flags in your script, or just use expressions in a chart. The exact expressions depend on exactly what you MEAN by a rolling year and quarter, but here's an example:

sum(if(Date>addmonths(today(),-12),Sales)) // rolling year sales
sum(if(Date>addmonths(today(),-3 ),Sales)) // rolling quarter sales

Not applicable
Author

I have a similar requirement. However, I want to do rolling 12 months from a date selected from the calendar object instead of today's date.

johnw
Champion III
Champion III

So you want to select a Date, then sum all Sales for all Dates for the previous 12 months? And the Date field they're selecting from the calendar is the same Date field as is in the table with the Sales field? Maybe this:

sum({<Date={">$(=addmonths(Date,-12)) <=$(=Date)"}>} Sales)

Not applicable
Author

Thanks John!