Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Section Access - without User ID and Password

Good Morning Qlik Community -

I'm new to the Section Access topic and trying to determine if it's possible to use Section Access without having my users enter a User ID and password.  My users access my qvw via an internal site.

I've done my research and keep coming back to the same posts but can't seem to find this answer.  Would also love an example of how to script this....

Thanks in advance

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Peter_Cammaert
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

There are various mechanisms at your disposal. If you aren't using a QlikView server (not clear from your OP), then you can simply use NTFS rights to permit/block users accessing your document. However as soon as anyone with access makes a copy of your document, all security measures are lost.

To apply a security system that travels with the document, you can choose from two basic techniques:

• Use SA field NTNAME: Comes down to automatic authorization using AD credentials. Everyone has to log in to Windows these days. So you will be able to identify anyone trying to open your document (Desktop or QlikView Server) and grant a specific group or list of users access to your document. Added bonus: this technique comes with SSO (Single-SignOn) which means: Once identified, always identified. If you're good to enter, no questions will be asked.
    BTW this is the only secure way of implementing access control without asking for credentials (see your OP)