Skip to main content
Announcements
See what Drew Clarke has to say about the Qlik Talend Cloud launch! READ THE BLOG
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Using a selected value to sum rows within an expression

Hi - I am very new to Qlikview. I have not been able to find a solution to my issue yet. I have Year and Month as dimensions, and deal amounts by month/year. On my chart, I would like to use the selected Year / Month as the 'as of'' month/year to sum the amounts. My expression is Sum (deal_amount). This works fine when I want the sum for a particular year and/or month. But that is not what I need. In SQL, this would translate to 'select sum(deal_amt), ... from ... where month >= '200901' .. group by ...' for example. How can I accomplish this? Thanks in advance for your help. -Najma

7 Replies
Not applicable
Author

Hi Najma,

You need to use 'Set Analysis'. I propose that you study it using the help file.

Your solution would be:

sum({1<month>={'200901'}>} deal_amount)

Please look at the help file to get a better understanding of how set analysis works.

Regards,

Werner

Not applicable
Author

Hi Najma,

see the attached example for help.

Good luck!

Rainer

Not applicable
Author

Hi.

Set analysis is new in 8.5 isn't it? I am on 8.2. Thats why I was wondering why the simplest expression was not working for me. In your example, Date.qvw, I couldn't see the numbers where set analysis was used in the expression. Thank you both for your help! And I need to upgrade.

Najma

johnw
Champion III
Champion III

Well, upgrading is probably a good idea, and makes this simpler, but it isn't a requirement to solve your problem.

Create an "As of Month" field that isn't connected to your main data. Then you can refer to that field in the expression. I'm not sure quite what you're after, but here's an example that would give you the sum of all deal amounts up through the selected month.

sum(if(Month<="As of Month",deal_amt))