Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
splitcore
Contributor III
Contributor III

Why is my Multi box displaying a single 0 at the top of the drop-down list?

Hi guys

I am new to Qlikview still so I apologize if any of the following may seem completely wrong in some senses to you guys...

I'm having an issue with my multi boxes which is the following:

I have two multi-boxes that work with a Year field (Just a table named Year containing years 1950-2015). One to select (From Year) and the other to select (To Year) which creates a range in my other objects. What I tried to do was if someone selected 1980 in (From Year) multi box, all years including and prior to 1980 should not be displayed in the (To Year) multi box.

The expression I used in the (To Year) multi box to get it to do this is as follows:

aggr(SUM({<Year=>}if(Year>$(vStartYear),Year)),Year)    

//If a value is selected in (From Year) m-box a trigger sets vStartYear to that selected year so I can use it in other expressions like this one.

This causes the multi box to display only Years >1980 but at the top of the drop-down list is a single 0....

|Year     |         0      |

|     1981     |

|     1982     |               //Visual "HD" representation of the multi box in drop down state.

|     1983     |

|     1984     | ..........

As the Dimension is an expression I do not have the option to tick Ignore Null in the presentation tab because the dimension is not listed on that tab at all.

I have tried the following to get rid of it in my dimensionexpression...

aggr(SUM({<Year=>}if(Year>=$(vStartYear) and Not Match(Year,'0'),Year)),Year)

aggr(SUM({<Year=>}if(Year>=$(vStartYear) and Not Match(Len(Trim([Year])),'1'),Year)),Year)

//Len(Trim('Year')) cannot be a 0 even a 0 would give a result of 1. All other years would give a result of 4.